Types of Alimony: Which One is Right for Your Situation?

Types of Alimony: Which One is Right for Your Situation?

Types of Alimony: Which One is Right for Your Situation?


Marriage is a vital decision in our lives that should not be taken lightly. Unfortunately, some marriages end in divorce, and when this happens, the topic of alimony becomes relevant. Alimony, also known as spousal support, refers to the payments one spouse makes to the other after divorce. The amount and type of alimony awarded depend on several factors, including the length of the marriage, the income of each spouse, and the needs of the potential recipient. In this blog post, you will learn about the various types of alimony and which one is right for your situation.


1. Temporary Alimony

Temporary alimony is awarded during the divorce process and is usually awarded to the lesser-earning spouse. It is meant to provide temporary financial support for the recipient until the final divorce settlement is reached. The duration and amount of temporary alimony awarded depend on the specific case and the judge's discretion. If you need assistance during the divorce proceedings, temporary alimony may be suitable for your situation.

2. Rehabilitative Alimony

Rehabilitative alimony helps support the spouse who has decided to pursue an education or vocational training to become self-supporting. This type of spousal support is awarded for a specific length of time to provide for the recipient's training or education expenses. The court considers factors like age, health, education level, and duration of the marriage when deciding if rehabilitative alimony is appropriate. If you need time to get back on your feet but can eventually become self-supporting, rehabilitative alimony is a good option for your situation.

3. Bridge-the-gap Alimony

Bridge-the-gap alimony helps a recipient transition from married life to a single life. This type of spousal support is awarded to help with short-term financial needs, such as rent, utility bills, and other living expenses. Bridge-the-gap alimony is only awarded for a maximum of two years to provide time for the recipient to adjust to their new life. If you need financial assistance to help you transition to a new lifestyle, bridge-the-gap alimony may be the best choice for your case.

4. Permanent Alimony

The court awards permanent alimony when the recipient is unlikely to become self-sufficient due to advanced age, illness, or other reasons. Permanent alimony is an open-ended order requiring the payor to continue making payments indefinitely. This type of spousal support is usually reserved for long-term marriages and cases where the recipient cannot become self-sufficient. If you require long-term financial support, permanent alimony may be the best choice for your case.

5. Durational Alimony

Durational alimony is similar to rehabilitative alimony in that it provides support for a specific period to help the recipient become self-sufficient. Typically, durational alimony is awarded for a period equal to half the length of the marriage. This type of spousal support may be awarded in short or medium-term marriages, or in situations where rehabilitative alimony is not appropriate. If you need short to medium-term support, durational alimony may be the best option for your case.



In conclusion, whether you are the payor or recipient, navigating the world of alimony can be challenging. It's essential to consult an experienced alimony attorney to help you understand the complexity of your case. At Ilvento Law, our experienced alimony attorneys are dedicated to finding the best possible solution for your case. Contact us today if you're looking for an alimony attorney in Orlando, FL, and let us help you find the right type of alimony support for your situation.

To Top